I’m a Doll Hair Genie!

When I found this Jasmine doll at the thrift store yesterday, I figured it would take the magic of a genie to fix her tangled mess of hair. But it was half-price day, and she was only 50 cents so I decided to rescue her from the evilness that had overtaken her long, dark locks.

IMG_6083
Jasmine’s hair is a tangled wreck!

Rather than mailing her to my daughter – the Doll Makeover Magician Extraordinaire – I decided to see if I could restore the hair myself. Turns out, it was easy!

I soaked her head in Downy fabric softener for about an hour, then used a wide-toothed comb to detangle.

IMG_6084
Soak the hair in fabric softener.

Just as I would when my own hair is full of knots, I started at the bottom and worked my way up.

IMG_6086
Use a wide-toothed comb.

Within minutes, the mess was combed out. I rinsed out the fabric softener, gave her body a good cleaning with a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and set her out to dry.

IMG_6089
Let it air dry.

 

This morning, I trimmed the straggles, then wished my daughter was here to style it. She does an amazing job as you can see here.

IMG_6091
Trim the straggles. Don’t let kids see you do this or the next time they get a pair of scissors, they’ll do it themselves – perhaps on themselves!

I settled for a long pony tail with three bands around it and sent a photo to my daughter who informed me I styled it much like it was in the movie, “Aladdin.” I informed her it was the only thing I could think to do with it.

IMG_6092
Voila!

I’m pleased with the results and I think my granddaughters will love her!

By the way, I made the dress and doll stand. More on that later.

 

